Everyone likes being able to say ‘Yes’. Life is so much easier and it makes you feel good, which is why we’ve built our business around saying ‘Yes’, with a commitment to service and quality that’s brought us success since 1998.

Don’t just take our word for it...

See what our customers have to say, then decide for yourself:

I really enjoyed being Visits Secretary and our holidays with Tailored Travel did not disappoint. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed every holiday. The new Travel Organiser will enjoy the holidays. Thank you for organising such interesting and enjoyable holidays for our Arts Society. 

JM, Upminster January 2024

 

JaneIt has been great fun running these tours and working with you all. 

DWB, Topsham January 2024

 

We’ve had a really super trip and the arrangements were excellent. I’ve had lots of really good feedback from our members. Our driver was always helpful and friendly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and went out of his way to make everything run smoothly. Thank you Louise for ensuring I had all the information I needed to make our trip run smoothly. It was a great success. We now look forward to travelling to Lincoln with Tailored Travel in the summer.

MW, Ascot December 2023 

 

Just to let you know our Glyndebourne tour went really well. The hotel staff looked after us superbly, the welcome drinks were provided as requested and food freshly cooked and delicious. We had coach parking on site at both NT properties, our Blue Badge guide was entertaining and the Opera was wonderful. We even had sunshine! Thank you so much for your help.

PT, Crowthorne November 2023

 

Just a note to say how happy our members have been with this year's holidays as is illustrated by the demand for next year.  In particular the number of single rooms is an enormous benefit because of high proportion of single members.

DS, Reading November 2023

 

What a stunning few days, a full itinerary of guided tours which introduced us to some fantastic works of art in Bologna, Mantova, Ravenna & Ferrara. So many delights to choose from but for me the highlights were the amazingly detailed mosaics of Ravenna. The fine art collection in the Pinacoteca Nationale and the Anatomical Museum in Bologna. Also the dramatic, neck aching, frescoes of Giulio Romano’s Room of Giant’s in the Palazzo Te, Mantova. Our main chatty guide was extremely knowledgeable about the places we visited and suggested a choice of local restaurants where we could enjoy the local cuisine, her specialty was the best gelato shop in each city! Our stay in the Hotel Touring was well located with such an easy walk through the beautiful colonnades to the centre of Bologna. Several of us took the opportunity, with a glass of wine, to take in the stunning views over roof tops of Bologna from the hotel’s guest balcony on the 5th floor. The weather throughout was on our side unfortunately the baggage handlers for our return flight were not! With our flight home cancelled Tailored Travel, liaising with Chris and Tamara, booked another flight for the Friday but from Pisa. This gave us all another sunny morning in Bologna but a very late return home. As a group we cannot thank Chris enough for organising us and Tailored Travel for their well organised and caring trip to such a beautiful area of northern Italy. 

SG, Swindon October 2023

 

We had a great tour of Veneto earlier this month. Another triumph for TT!

DH, Stratford-Upon-Avon October 2023

 

Just a quick email to thank you for all your hard work in making our holiday to the Lake District so successful, especially changing our visit from the lake to the Kendal Art Gallery. Everyone really appreciated your efforts. Thank you from all of us.

SB, Reigate October 2023
 
 

Dear Michael,

You are aware that during our tour of Worcestershire & Warwickshire last week, my group experienced some difficulties. Once your office was notified of the problems, they worked hard to ensure that the issues were resolved as soon as possible. Vasiliki Fotopoulou was amazing during the "coach breakdown," ensuring that I was fully informed of everything that was happening and giving me details of the various coach companies, which would be transporting us to our final destination. My feeling was that she really cared about my group and was not just doing her job. Your input was very much appreciated both in relation to the breakdown and the issue that arose on the Saturday evening.

It was very generous of you to pay for people's pre dinner drinks on the first evening, for which I am enclosing the receipt and also to pay for porterage, once our suitcases had arrived. However, after asking 3 times at Reception to pay the porterage bill, I was told that there would be no charge. I know that the members of my group greatly appreciated your gestures. I didn't have any complaints about the unfortunate start to the holiday, and I really hope that no one has complained to you since returning.

I have run 5 holidays in conjunction with your company, and never experienced an problems, until this year, but the way the problems were handled has given me ever confidence in Tailored Travel and would certainly recommend it to other people organising group holidays. I am looking forward to working with your company again for our 2024 holiday.

SE, Havering October 2023

 

I have led three successful tours.  It’s been a great experience due to TT’s expertise and planning so thank you.

SS, Stamford July 2023

 

My husband and I joined the holiday 'The History & Heritage of Wallonia'. It was so well organised and didn't have to worry about a thing. We particularly want to mention our tour manager. He was very caring, capable and cheerful and made our holiday.

CP, Tonbridge June 2023

 

Thank you very much for organising our trip to Umbria which has been a resounding success. Even before we left Italy people were asking where our next trip would be. I have received emails and cards from nearly everybody saying how much they enjoyed it. The feedback for the hotel has been good. The staff were friendly, professional and ready to help out with any problems. Andrea was excellent. He put in a lot of work liaising with the tour guides and the places we were going to visit. All of the tour guides were good, and what Mauro does not know about Art History is not worth knowing! Our coach driver Firenze was lovely and because he doesn't speak English I spoke French with him, as did some of the others in the group. The food at the restaurant in Spoleto was good and the staff there were good as well.  The family at the agriturismo were very welcoming and the food was very good. They brought their cars down to where the coach was and ferried people up the long drive to the farm. The welcome drinks and amuse bouche were appreciated after an early start and our visits to Sansepolcro and Arezzo. The members enjoyed the visits to the wine tasting, candle and paper making and the visit to the olive oil tasting was a particular success. The lady there who explained the process was very good and answered a lot of questions from the group and there was more than a bit of a spending spree in the shop! I would recommend this visit for other trips. It was a full itinerary which some found a bit overwhelming though they tended to be the ones that found it difficult walking in some places, but they were made aware of that in the brochure. Some did decide not to join the trips and either stayed at the hotel or went for a coffee while the visit was taking place. Again, thank you very much.

SG, Oxted June 2023

 

This was a really excellent tour, made special by our amazing guide. She was like a walking encyclopaedia of knowledge about the North East and was able to answer all the questions we put to her without needing to look anything up. She is such an outstanding ambassador for the region! And our driver really looked out for our welfare by driving carefully and skilfully and by making sure that we were all at ease and knew exactly what was going to happen and when. They made an excellent team and worked really well together. Thank you!

SM, Ascot May 2023

 

We had a really lovely trip to Scotland - lots of happy memories.

DH, Stratford-Upon-Avon May 2023

 

Just a short note to say how much we all enjoyed the Scottish tour. The houses, galleries, hotel were spot on and Holker Hall on the way up was a precious gem. Thank you so much for all your hard work. Di and I have loved our time with you.

SS, Stratford upon Avon May 2023

 

Just to let you know that we did indeed have a lovely time in Devon and the warmer weather was just the icing on the cake.  Thanks to your expertise everything went smoothly with no panics. The Driver was wonderful and took over all the announcements and suchlike being very knowledgeable about that part of the country. His driving was without fault, especially when negotiating very narrow drives and country lanes. The hotel was good, clean and friendly and the food was appreciated by all the group who seemed well satisfied with the tour. Thank you, but I might be forced to do another one!

KM-D, Maldon May 2023

 

We are back safe and sound! Thanks to all your hard work we have had a great tour to Northern Italy.  As far as I am aware there were no great problems on the tour except for one person who arrived at Heathrow without his passport having left it behind in the photocopier – me! We had perfect weather throughout, excellent guides, stayed in great hotels and overdosed on horology.  What more could you ask for?  Many of your timings went out of the window but “This is Italy”. We are already planning our visit to Switzerland next year and expect to be in touch with Mike within the next couple of months.

DB, Worthing May 2023

 

Thank you very much for re-introducing us to Glasgow. We had no idea that we were going to see such a lot of wonderful things. I had been to the Burrell Collection a long time ago and it is still outstanding and my favourite art gallery of all the ones that we visited. I loved Salvador Dali in the Kelvingrove Art Gallery, the House for an Art Lover was interesting but I would not have liked to have lived there. I absolutely loved Dumfries House and would have moved in tomorrow. Hill House left me confused and the Hunterian Gallery was very stimulating with its challenging system of exhibiting the paintings and they had such a lot of wonderful works of art. We were so lucky to have the friendly and brilliant driver Pawel and the super duper Ken as our guide. They were both fantastic. Also I loved our bedroom and bathroom which was super comfortable and the hotel staff was very accommodating.

B & R Makin, London May 2023

 
 

Pleased to say that everything for our tour to Bristol, Bath & Wells was perfect including the sunshine. To list our praise and thanks, Steve our driver was great and although we hit traffic jams throughout the week he seemed to know his way around it so we weren’t stuck for hours, so highly recommend his company for future trips. We have had quite a few Blue Badge guides over the years but high praise for Liz, she was an excellent guide and such a lovely lady, full of knowledge but didn’t bombard you with endless historical facts that none of us would retain. All the excursions went very well including Worcester and Wightwick Manor, though I think Wells seems to be everyone’s favourite. The location of the hotel was stunning, and the staff, service, cleanliness and food were great so no complaints from anyone. So everyone had a great holiday including Irene and myself, although our group was smaller than we’ve ever had it worked really well with everyone mixing so we could just relax and enjoy the company.

Joan & Irene, Warrington May 2023

 

Yesterday I returned from our tour to Northumbria departing 18th May. I don’t usually do such holidays but have to say that it was excellent. Even the weather was amazing. Our coach driver was incredible. How he got the coach through The Bowes Museum gate was magic and he got a well deserved round of applause. Our Blue Guide is a walking advert for Northumbria. She has a wealth of knowledge which she obviously enjoys sharing and is very proud of her area. She did not appear to have notes a very praiseworthy and impressive thing. Thank you to you all.

PC, Maidenhead May 2023

 

We are all safely back from a most enjoyable visit to Malta. Our Guide surpassed all expectations. She was a very interesting, funny and caring guide who was able to steer us all round with so much diplomacy, which made our whole experience amazing!!! Our hotel was very accommodating and heard no complaints throughout our visit. Tailored Travel have excelled themselves once again. Thank you for all your efforts. Much appreciated.

JB, Ascot May 2023

 

Just a quick email to say that we all had a wonderful time in Slovenia. As you know we had to fly to Venice which meant we didn’t arrive till midnight at our hotel but they had left cold platters in our rooms and we had a leisurely start the next day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a lovely sense of humour. The coach and driver were excellent and the hotel was very comfortable. We visited a wide range of interesting places but there was also time to relax and socialise. Thanks for all your hard work and organisation. I’m now being asked to plan our next European adventure.

SB, Reigate May 2023

 

Our hotel for our tour of Trieste & North East Italy proved a very happy choice. All the rooms were nice with marble bathrooms and those who had chosen to upgrade to a balcony on the front were delighted. Breakfasts were extremely good with lots of choice, and the dinner on our first night was very adequate. Our itinerary was nicely varied. The highlights were visiting the Castello di San Giusto on a beautiful sunny day, which allowed us to appreciate its wonderful panoramic setting, and the visit to Aquileia where we were blown away by the amazing mosaics and a glimpse into the lost splendour of the Roman Empire. We all enjoyed our time in San Daniele del Friuli, particularly the delicious Prosciutto di San Daniele and pickle lunch we had organised with the help of our tour manager (whose home is in the area). Needless to say, I have always been most grateful for Sandy’s endless patience and efficiency in ensuring our trips run smoothly.

SA, Wimbledon April 2023

 

A belated warm thank you for such a successful holiday. The very comprehensive itinerary was perfectly tailored to our interests with so many well-maintained National Trust houses to admire and it was very good value. I also found the Titanic Experience most impressive and feel it is a "must" for visitors to Northern Ireland. The hotel was the ideal base, very spacious, good and most generous meals and particularly welcoming, helpful and efficient staff. Our most informative guide, excellent driver plus a comfortable coach added greatly to our knowledge and we learnt a great deal of the country's history, agriculture, industry and literature as we travelled. My congratulations on what was an exceptionally well planned and executed six days, coupled with fine weather throughout, gave us all 100% enjoyment, as so often with Tailored Travel holidays.

Fenella S November 2022

 

Our trip to North Wales with glorious castles and the beauty of Snowdonia started with a stop at the poignant National Memorial Arboretum. We saw a lot in limited time with a land train tour - genius. Also a fascinating slate museum and stunning gardens and National trust properties. There was something for everyone and the group loved every minute.

JL, Twickenham October 2022

 

Our Society's holiday to Glyndebourne and the Heritage of Sussex and Kent was my sixth for the Society. After having to cancel our visit to Bologna in 2020 and four years since our last Society holiday, I was anxious about producing another successful event. Loie and I have received much praise and appreciation from our members. I must sincerely thank Tailored Travel (coupled with Louise Ramsden) for organizing a really brilliant holiday for us. The hotel in Eastbourne was excellent again and much liked; our Guide was full of knowledge, humorous but meticulous with details and our coach driver first class and helpful. The programme was full and the visits varied and in their different ways, each one most enjoyable. The visit to Glyndebourne itself for La Boheme was superb with an amazing production. Michael, Tailored Travel is certainly back, after covid, producing great holidays and I wish you every success for the future.

John P October 2022

 

Thank you so much for all your invaluable help and attention to detail for the trip. It was a great success and everything went smoothly and according to plan. Even the weather was in our favour with only a splash of rain on our visits and glorious Autumn sun the rest of the time. The hotel was excellent and the party enjoyed Tailored Travel’s interesting and varied choice of visits. Saturday worked well with Charleston, Lewes, and then Glyndebourne. As you had pointed out it would have been a rush to go back to the hotel to change so the day just melded into one glorious outing. I must congratulate both you and Tailored Travel for the planning and detail of the trip and hope next year to repeat it with different visits.

Ann S October 2022

 

Just wanted to let you know we all arrived back today, having had a really good holiday in Jersey.  Everything about the hotel was good, especially the food and the staff were all very helpful and skilled. Our guide was very good and knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with.  The coach driver also did a good job. Take care and talk soon.

Sue M October 2022

 

The Mendelssohn Tour of Scotland was absolutely wonderful and we both greatly enjoyed the very varied itinerary. We were blessed with lovely weather, giving us beautiful views of the Scottish scenery and the hotel was superb - very comfortable rooms and the food excellent. Peter, as ever, was the perfect host and ensured that everything ran smoothly!

Julia & David C October 2022

 

Our trip to Barcelona was a great success thank you for organising a splendid five days. Everyone thought the week’s programme 1st class. Our tour manager Paul, a larger than life character, kept us well informed and safe so please thank him.

Diane H & Stevie S October 2022

 

I’ve just returned from our trip to the Isle of Man. You might remember that I was very quick to complain about the unsuitable driver on my last trip to The Wye Valley but this time I want to tell you how brilliant our guide and driver were in the Isle of Man. They were friendly, informative and very understanding about our issues re mobility etc. Chris was a safe and capable driver on those tricky roads. Andrew was exceptionally helpful and full of fascinating information. He was very patient with our endless questions too. Their enthusiasm for their island was infectious. They changed things round for us so that we didn’t have to suffer too much on the days with inclement weather and Chris resourcefully organised an extra tour of a Manx kipper smokery which included free hot drinks - what a bonus on a grey dull wet day! You are very fortunate, in my opinion, to have the services of Andrew and Chris at your disposal. They really made this visit memorable and were a perfect example of how the driver and guide combination can make (or break) one of your trips. I thoroughly enjoyed this visit to the Isle of Man having known very little about it beforehand.

Ann D October 2022

 

We had an excellent tour to Nice; everyone seemed to enjoy it not least because the weather was fantastic. Our tour manager managed the group well. The itinerary worked really well. Having Villa Kerylos and the Villa and Gardens of Ephrussi de Rothschild on the same day was excellent as it involved less time on the bus. The Musee Picasso and Antibes on the last morning worked well too. An absolute highlight was our guide Cecelia. She was a very knowledgeable art historian who gave us fantastic information. That's all to report. We had a really good trip so thank you for organising it.

Sue W October 2022

 

We much enjoyed our recent trip to Madrid, with art galleries and side visits, organised by you. The use of a tour manager was particularly helpful in the big galleries (the Prado and the Thyssen), and the overall guiding provided by him was very impressive. His ability to give specific information plus contextual information based on his knowledge of Spain extremely helpful. This was a holiday that added a lot of value to the basic travel, and I felt we should record our appreciation.

Bruce R & Marge M September 2022

 

Thank you for arranging our trip to Bologna. We had a fantastic time and saw some really wonderful artworks. I was so glad that you were able to schedule the last day so that we could visit Padova on the way to the airport. Many members of the group had not seen the Giotto chapel before, so it was a very important part of our tour. Everybody was extremely happy with the hotel. Its location is perfect; close to the centre but in a quiet sidestreet. Perfect!  And we made full use of the rooftop terrace and its bar. Everything (except the flights which were slightly delayed) ran exactly to your schedule and we had terrific guides. A really superb trip. 

Bernard A September 2022

 

Just back from a really successful trip to Suffolk. Thank you so much for organising a fantastic itinerary, hotel, driver and guide. Everything went so well and the feedback from everyone was very positive. Not one hitch along the way. A big thanks from us all.

Sheila S July 2022

 

Thank you for giving us such good and detailed instructions as to how to complete the passenger location form for our trip to Bologna, even though in the end we didn't need it. Your list of instructions was so clearly laid out, and very well worded so there was no confusion - in fact a masterly work of clarity, and thank you very much. And, we had a lovely time in Italy, and thank you for organising that.

Lauraine B May 2022

 

Just to let you know that we had a very enjoyable trip to North Wales. Thank you for making all the arrangements for us which all went very smoothly. Even the weather was exceptionally kind! Our guide was very professional and her knowledge of everything Welsh second to none. She even managed to fit in an extra visit for us to The Slate Museum on Day 4 by leaving the hotel half an hour earlier. Our coach driver couldn’t have been more helpful.  The itinerary worked well, making good use of our time but not too exhausting.  Winterbourne House was a popular stop on the outward journey. The gardens were at their best and the catering arrangements good. In fact for all the gardens we couldn’t have timed it better. The laburnum arch at Bodnant was amazing.  The hotel served our purpose well and convenient location in the centre of The National Park. The food was good and the staff were always helpful and friendly, even coming out to wave us off when we left. They were not servicing the rooms, possibly due to Covid or staff shortages but no one complained and I’m sure had we needed anything they would have obliged.  Thank you again for arranging another successful tour. 

Margaret W May 2022

 

Thank you for another fabulous UK short break to Warwickshire. Everyone enjoyed the hotel. It was comfortable, in a lovely setting, with friendly staff and great dinner menus. The hotel was not far to travel to lots of places of interest, and our blue badge guide and driver were excellent. All was organised with the care and efficiency that Tailored Travel is renowned for. I’m now thinking about my next trip!

Jan T May 2022

 

[To Peter Medhurst] I just wanted to extend a huge thank you to you for such a marvellous 5 days in Liverpool. There really are not enough adjectives to describe each wonderful day. Your organisation, along with Tailored Travel, was impeccable. I learned so much and I don’t think there was much room left for more information. Your retention of facts is incredibly amazing. You truly are unique combined with being a kind and caring host. The week did me a world of good after a bad start to the year. My friends encouraged me to do something for ‘me’. Luckily I had already booked this trip last August and I feel so much better after those few days. I am now looking forward to the Gilbert and Sullivan tour in August. I loved your morning lectures and felt so privileged to hear you in a small very elite group and not just on Zoom. The theme running through the lectures was so perfect. It was so good to finally meet you. Best wishes and thank you again for a really memorable week. See you on Zoom

WH May 2022

 

[To Peter Medhurst] It was very kind of you to write so promptly on our return from the outstanding Liverpool trip which we really enjoyed. The trip was most enjoyable in so many ways, hugely as a result of your meticulous planning, together with the outstanding services of Simone and Maric (?), both so friendly and attentive. Simone is one of the best guides we have ever encountered, so knowledgeable, and moving through the various galleries at just the right pace, even for the 'elderly'!! It was good that the group was so friendly and not too large. As a result we could enjoy all the wonderful things on the programme, without being 'moved on' too rapidly. We hope we may be able to join another of your groups in the future, and can only repeat our thanks to you , ensuring our enormous enjoyment of the whole 5 day programme.

Colin & Alison Q May 2022

 

I felt I must write to thank you for organising such a superb trip. All of those, without exception, appreciated your organisation. The hotel staff could not have been more cooperative, the driver, Gary often had meals with us and he was a good source of information and of course the guide, Ian was a fountain of knowledge which was delivered with humour. All in all, it was a fantastic break and I look forward to communicating with you again next year for another trip, perhaps to somewhere like North Wales! 

Beverley W May 2022

 

I wanted to write to say what a splendid holiday you organised for Reigate U3a last week. Some wonderful visits; including Titanic, which I was not looking forward to (as I used to sail in smallish yachts) but I thoroughly enjoyed it - by bypassing the area to do with accident and aftermath. The guide and driver were special too! Lots of good information and precision driving. The highlight for me was being allowed into Stormont at the time the newly elected politicians were being interviewed by hordes of press. Some of our group even appeared on the 6pm news! Thank you to you all

Tina R May 2022

 

I am just writing to thank you very much for the excellent service your company provided for the wonderful trip to Umbria at the end of April. Everything was organised to the last detail and the guide, Andrea was brilliant. He was extremely professional, thoughtful and very generous in his kindness looking after all us “oldies” in the group. The Italian guide Myra was also excellent and very knowledgable imparting her extensive information in a light hearted but professional manner. The coach driver also needs mentioning for his superb and comfortable driving on sometimes challenging roads! I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays I have experienced and has certainly whetted my appetite for more! We have all, of course thanked Moira and her committee for their part in organising it but I felt I would like to also express my gratitude to you for a trip that lived up to all my hopes and expectations.

Louise B May 2022

 

Yet again you did it. Each time we return from a Tailored Travel (Sandy Cornish) tour we say “that was the best trip” but you really surpassed yourself with our Umbrian trip. Andrea was always smiling and we gradually became aware how good he was at the managing part of his job.  A very nice touch, on first meeting us he gave each one of us his business card and said to ring him at any time if we had a question or if we were in trouble.  He was always buying tickets, liaising with the guides, persuading the driver to bring the coach up or down to save us climbing or using rope ladders to come down. He did a fantastic job, he is also a great fan of yours, Sandy Cornish’s name was sacred (such a pleasure to work on any of her tours). Omar, our driver, was incredible, always smartly dressed, always charming and helpful, and what a driver!! We all fell for Maura, such a brilliant actress, so enthusiastic, encyclopaedic knowledge, you could not take your eyes or ears off her when she was in full flow. The hotel was very good, such a fabulous location. You did a fantastic job Sandy. You kept us all going when we had begun to think the tour would never happen. I have had some many emails congratulating me on organising such a fascinating tour, when really you and Michael are the ones who should take all the praise. 

All my very best wishes

Moira R May 2022

 

Just to thank you for our super trip to Lincoln. It all ran like clockwork, no small thanks to you for the hours you must have put in to ensure that it did. There were lots of kind comments about "my" organisation, which I'm afraid I took most of the credit for, when really I should have owned up that it was all largely due to you.  My personal favourite visit was to Gainsborough Old Hall.  I have seen lots of Victorian kitchens but never such a fascinating mediaeval one. Brett was a careful and helpful driver. The two guides at the Cathedral were exceptional - the one for my group had so much information to impart that his mouth couldn't keep up with his brain. But my main reason for writing is to thank you, Louise, for the hard work you put in to making this trip the success it was, and to say how much I enjoyed working with you on it. 

Best wishes, 

Val H April 2022

 

Thank you so much for organising this wonderful tour of Umbria for us, and quickly re-booking a flight to Pisa, when BA cancelled the flight to Rome. This must have been stressful for you but it got us in time to start our programme of visit on the Monday. With best wishes, 

Régine P April 2022

 

Our visit to Venice was marvellous in every way and in the context of Covid was an organizational triumph by you and your team! Peter's organ recitals made every venue magical and Tom's passion and encyclopaedic knowledge of fine art brought every breathtaking picture, glorious building and stunning visit to life in an unforgettable way. I look forward to going on future tours with Peter Medhurst. I will complete the questionnaire over the weekend with glowing feedback! With many thanks, best wishes and congratulations for giving all participants a taste of normal life after such a tough period of solitude and isolation.

Pattie K February 2022

 

Everything was wonderful.  I had visited Naples with my husband many years ago, staying with friends which had been most interesting, but Tom brought to us the wonder of the structure of Naples and its history: the building of palaces and grand churches through the centuries. Peter brought us the great history of music in Naples, through the period of Naples' pomp.  We had, in addition, the great privilege of him playing on piano, harpsichords and finally a wonderful organ in the Jesuit church. Thank you for what was a wonderful experience with both Peter and Tom giving us their respective encyclopedic knowledge: your hard work on our behalf really gave me a trip I will not forget. 

Joanna F February 2022

 

This is just a quick line to thank you once again for all the hard work and fire fighting over the ever changing muddle of Covid measures you put into the trip to Venice with Peter and Tom. In discussions with both of them it emerged how much of the work load was really on you and I, and I am sure the others in our really nice group, appreciated it. In all sorts of ways this trip was unique for me, even though I am a very seasoned worldwide traveller with two long spells living abroad. Both Peter and Tom combined amazing erudition with very appealing personalities and made every day exciting and fun, though for me as probably one of the oldest in the group at 82  the physical demands were at times a bit taxing. I returned with a wealth of new insights into Venetian music and art, if only I could retain it all. My husband who sadly would never have managed at 91! was quite jealous. Till my next venture with Tailored Travel all best wishes and kind regards

Irene H January 2022

 

I just wanted to say a big thank you for all you do to make sure our trips with Peter run smoothly. I had a wonderful time in Venice.  It's such a beautiful city and Peter and Tom did everything they can to make it a memorable experience.  However your organisational skills, efficiency and eye for detail help ensure Peter and Tom can run such a good trip.  Peter always sings your praises, and justly so! Peter mentioned that a trip to Bologna is in the pipeline but you are still finalising details.  It sounds very good.  Please could you send me the details as soon as they become available. Very best wishes

Mary U January 2022

 

Now safely back home, I’d just like to thank you for all your meticulous planning for the Venice trip.  It was amazing to be able to walk across an empty Piazza and to be greeted with such warmth wherever we went. I really appreciated all your detailed instructions regarding the Covid regulations.  Thanks to you I managed to complete the form without going into meltdown this time. Best wishes,

Angela V January 2022

 

I just wanted to let you know how much Andrew and I had enjoyed our very first tour with Peter and Tom. So much information from them both and Peter’s wonderful playing in very special surroundings. I especially wanted to thank you for all the delicious lunches that you arranged. We really did eat incredibly well both at lunchtime and at the organised dinners. Hotels were superb as well. Our very grateful thanks for such a superbly organised tour and hoping that we will be able to join Peter again in the future. 

Liz & Andrew M, November 2021

 

Anthony and I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the Bach tour with Peter Medhurst - it was well worth the wait. Everything went smoothly, thanks in no small part to your organisation behind the scenes and to Tom Abbott’s efficiency on the spot. We were especially grateful to have your step-by-step guides to dealing with the Einreise form beforehand and the Passenger Locator Form before we left Germany. But back to the tour itself. Everything was of exceptional quality and it was lovely to be so well looked after. Because we are used to Germany we knew that there would be a charge to use public loos and had some small change with us, but it was such a helpful touch that Tom had a ready supply of euro coins for loos and lockers, so no one was stuck. It’s these little things that you remember, as well as the lovely meals and comfortable hotels. Peter was as charming, courteous and informative as ever, and his recitals on church organs and period instruments were definitely a highlight of the tour. Both his and Tom’s talks on the coach were interesting and informative and were a pleasant way of passing the time on the longer drives. We now need time to digest the experiences of a very packed week.

Susan & Anthony S, November 2021

 

Back home and fingers crossed all tests, paperwork etc completed. Just to say it was the most fabulous, fabulous trip which will stay with me forever. A huge thanks for all the hard work that went in to making the week such a success. My very best wishes, 

Alison, November 2021

 

The J S Bach tour was a resounding success. Nothing but praise for the mighty triumvirate of Peter, Thomas and Sandy! I know that only total attention to detail can ensure such success. And I know how difficult that is to achieve, given the vagaries of all aspects of travel and the idiosyncrasies of human beings! So thank you for your part in ensuring ease of travel and for making sure we were all very comfortable, well fed and up to date with the complex requirements of the requisite governments! All best wishes,

ML, November 2021

 

I can honestly say that this tour was the best organised I have ever been on. You thought of every last detail between you. Having heard of some of the difficulties you encountered when putting it together, I am full of admiration for you and the team. Add to this my own passion for Bach and it was a dream of a holiday for me. Peter and Tom were marvellous, of course. With many, many thanks, 

AV, November 2021

 

I want to thank you for doing all the booking for the trip to Liverpool. The organisation was wonderful and went exactly to your plan which you had put together so well. As a first time Visits Organiser I was a little nervous and you kindly accepted my pre trip jitters and then put together a fabulous itinerary. Your choice of guide was a joy. She was very professional and had a vast knowledge of Liverpool, art and architecture. She was never flustered and never made the group feel “herded”. The driver was also excellent – we felt we were in very safe hands and he and the guide worked very well as a team. We were also blessed with good weather the whole time! Hanbury Hall was a good stopping point on the way up.  The National Memorial Arboretum coming down was very good, and we were lucky that they had a small Grayson Perry exhibition going on. The Marriott Hotel in my opinion was perfect for our group and in Covid times. It was not too busy so people felt OK walking around and a big plus was that the coach (with some manoeuvring) could be parked right outside.  The dinner on the first night was very good. Port Sunlight was a contrast to busy Liverpool and we were able to slow down the pace which we all enjoyed. The Anthony Gormley statues were highlights. So thank you again for organising this visit, there is a vast amount of preparation and  meticulous planning that goes into every trip and you and Tailored Travel obviously have a very good system to make sure it works so well. With best wishes, 

Sue, October 2021

 

Our trip to the Glyndebourne opera was a great success. Took 38 and brought 38 back. They loved the hotel and the ambience. The three visits were excellent and all different from each other. So thank you for your excellent organising. Best wishes, 

Rebecca, October 2021

 

Thank you very much for putting together an excellent itinerary for us in York and Yorkshire. The hotel was excellent and well situated. They worked very hard to make us comfortable, the breakfast and evening meals were plentiful, well presented and tasty. Our Blue Badge guide was as we have come to expect from these guides very good. She was charming, patient, unflappable and very knowledgeable - we thoroughly enjoyed having her with us for 3 days and she took the pressure of me!!!! Everything worked like clockwork - as usual. A wonderful trip, full on and enjoyed by everyone - it was wonderful to be together again - like it was before Covid. Thank you all very much for all your hard work, it is very much appreciated. Best wishes,

Gill, September 2021

 

Once again a wonderful and successful Tour of Normandy. This inspite of all the difficulties caused by COVID. We organised this trip with you two years ago but it was worth waiting for it. The organisation, as always, was excellent. Everything meticulously planned. Petra was always there for us when needed. Our Tour Guide was wonderful, his first hand knowledge of the area and his abilities to sort out some difficulties to do with COVID procedures meant our trip was truly tailored for us! He is also a very good photographer so our group photo made us all look good. We felt like pioneers post COVID, but in safe hands! Thank you. Very best wishes, 

CB, Chairman, September 2021

 

I have just returned from the trip to Northamptonshire you put together for our U3A. It was varied, interesting and took in some of the fascinating countryside. I was very pleased to have signed up for it. I should also add the coach company and drivers were excellent and the hotel fitted the bill so well too, it was comfortable and the staff were obliging and helpful. Many thanks for your organisation skills.

CH, September 2021

 

I’ve just returned from the tour to Northern Ireland with my U3A. I’d like to say what a fantastic trip it was. The tour was a great mix of history, nature and sightseeing. I understood very little about NI beforehand so was really interested in finding out about it. The highlight for me of this tour, though, was the choice of guide and driver as they made it so good. I believe they were the most helpful, thoughtful and informative team of all the trips I’ve been on. So well done Tailored Travel for this wonderful holiday.

AD, September 2021

 

Just to let you know that all your hard work organising our holiday to Northumbria paid off. Everyone had a great time on the tour to Northumbria and we were even blessed with good weather. A big thank you to you for all your hard work in organising what was a really great holiday. We had several members who had never been on holiday with us before and they were all delighted with the experience. Very best wishes, 

Maureen, September 2021 

 

I write, having just returned from this beautiful holiday in Northumbria, with your company. It was of course, excellently planned, & needless to say we were very well looked after by out group organisers. The lady who was our local blue badge guide was not only an excellent & knowledgeable guide but most pleasant company & our driver wonderful negotiating the narrow gates & lanes as well as the main roads! The staff at our hotel were helpful & delightful. People are very fast to complain when things go wrong but not always so rapid to say thank you when things go well, so here is a most heartfelt thank you to everyone involved.

AB, August 2021

 

We have just returned from the U3A group visit to Northumbria. Everyone had a wonderful time – it was so good to travel again. We all felt perfectly safe and the hotel adopted good hygiene practices. Our driver and Blue Badge Guide were excellent. It is hard to select a highlight, but for us it was the boat trip around The Farne Islands where we saw many birds and seals. We couldn't resist a group photo at the Angel of The North. Our thanks to everyone involved.

Janet & Dan L, July 2021

 

On behalf of the group who went to Liverpool this week can I say a huge “thank you” for all your hard work in ensuring we had a wonderful trip. Organisation was first class, Sandy, under very difficult Covid compliant circumstances (and the odd little irritation at the end which you handled very firmly, quite rightly, but diplomatically!)  All went very smoothly due to your efforts. Our guide was excellent and our driver very cheerful!

Trevor, June 2021

 

The Society has just returned from a very successful – and happy – trip to Kent and I just wanted to thank Tailored Travel for all their excellent planning and organisation. Everything ran like clockwork.  The driver was excellent, and it goes without saying that our guide was a joy to have along. His wit and humour carried us through, plus his wide-ranging knowledge and care for his passengers. The hotel was superb and the staff couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. The itinerary was very varied – and in spite of one or two damp moments – the gardens were all looking at their absolute best. I’m sure as a Society we’d like to do another trip with you in the future and we’re having discussions about possible destinations.  We just need to let Val get over this one first! 

LH, Chairman, June 2021

 

We arrived back safely on Friday night after a wonderful holiday to Northumbria. Everything ran so smoothly thanks to your brilliant organisation. The hotel was excellent with very good food and superb service, such friendly staff. Every venue we visited ran like clockwork. I think staff everywhere were so pleased to have visitors again. Although we could not get bookings for Lindisfarne Castle we all agreed that the Priory was the most important site to visit. We were able to go into Gertrude Jekyll's walled garden and the weather was lovely that day so everyone was happy. The coach driver was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, and of course our guide exceeded all expectations - absolutely brilliant! Thank you so much from all of us for the tremendous effort that you put into making our holiday work, which was way beyond normal expectations. I am already getting bookings for next year flooding in and I do hope that we will work together again.

TS, Chairman, May 2021

 

Just around five months in lockdown and there like a light at the end of the tunnel was our U3A Northumbria Tour. Our numbers diminished but Tailored Travel guided us along the way and eventually 21 intrepid seniors said let’s go we need something to look forward to. Our coach was very comfortable and the driver was excellent. The hotel was ready with all the Covid measures in place. They greeted us with great enthusiasm. We had the ground floor of the hotel dedicated to our tour. Nothing was too much trouble and the meals were good fresh cooked food served with a smile. Our guide worked so hard and after not working for 5 months she was raring to go. What a font of knowledge she was without being too much like a lecturer. She also included some little extras like the Angel of the North photo stop which was on everyone’s wish list. Tailored Travel’s team were excellent and when venues failed to open, Sandy rearranged, with my approval, other venues which were equally interesting, if not in some cases better. I was consulted at every step of the way. It was not a stressful experience at all. Communication was second to none. We felt totally safe at all times and hands were never so clean. In fact, we had so much sanitiser gel we could have bathed in it.! Everyone had a brilliant holiday and came back with new friends, a head full of memories, and a story to tell of their intrepid adventures in the North East. Thank you Tailored Travel for a fantastic holiday.

SC, Outings Convenor, September 2020

 

I would like to thank your company and all your staff, in particular Sandy Cornish, for all their hard work in ensuring that our recent holiday to Worcestershire and Warwickshire went ahead. When our itinerary was thrown into disarray by the National Trust not accepting coach parties, she went above and beyond to provide us with an alternative plan. She ensured that all the i’s were dotted and the t’s were crossed and as a result of her hard work everything ran smoothly. When we arrived at venues we were expected and all the paperwork was in order. She really did an outstanding job. Mainline Coaches didn’t disappoint either. The driver, John Lewis was excellent, gave us a smooth ride and kept a very tidy coach. The coach company must be commended on the measures that they put into place to minimise the spread of COVID - 19 whilst travelling on the coach. From my point of view it was a great relief to see the seats that could be occupied so clearly marked, as well as the hand sanitising station positioned at such a prominent point on the vehicle. Our driver gave excellent instructions as to the precautions that were to be taken as well as answering questions about the air conditioning system so that the group could make an informed decision as to whether to wear masks or not whilst they were seated. He was also fastidious about sanitising the coach which was comforting. Many members of the group commented how safe they felt when travelling on the coach. I have written to the coach company expressing the groups thanks. I think that in these uncertain times, many of the group had reservations about taking the holiday, but took the risk. As the days unfolded many people commented that participating in the trip gave them increasing confidence that it was safe to go out and about. I know that they will tell others about how safe it was and hopefully it will encourage others to take calculated risks to travel particularly within the U.K. Everyone had a thoroughly good time, so much that they are expecting me to organise a holiday for 2021. So I will be in touch shortly with our plans for next year. With grateful thanks,

SE, Group Organiser, September 2020

 

As you said, hopefully our paths will cross again and I would certainly love to organise another group trip somewhere, with your Company in the future. For my part you have always made everything run very smoothly and certainly our Dresden trip was a joy.

AD, Shaftesbury October 2019

 

What a wonderful holiday we had organised by Tailored Travel. This is the fourth time we have travelled with the company and each time we enjoy the variety of places to visit and appreciate the superb organisation that goes into giving everyone an excellent holiday. There is flexibility too, and you can choose alternative venues to visit and these are skilfully woven into your trip. We had an amazing joyous holiday to suit lots of different interests, with a superb coach driver and hotel. Thank you very much!

JH Tavistock October 2018

 

As I was in with the project from proposal to actual visit, I would like to thank the Tailored Travel team for their proposal, detailed planning and response to a few ‘tailoring’ suggestions, so that the eventual tour was very successful in both the minor details and overall.

JCP, Farnborough September 2018

 

This is going to be my last year as Tours Secretary for the Society. I wanted to say how much I have enjoyed working with your company. The organisation is top class and every one of the staff is more than helpful and totally ‘on the ball’. Of course I will not be finished until after the Barcelona tour later in the year, but I wanted to record what a pleasure it is to work with you all.

MV, Budleigh Salterton March 2018

 

I am writing on behalf of the group who went on the ‘Delights of Northern Italy’ tour in October to express everyone’s appreciation of the speedy and efficient way that Ryanair’s refund in respect of our cancelled flight home has been handled by Tailored Travel. We have all been impressed with the way Tailored Travel responded so quickly, and looked after our interests so well by arranging the alternative flight home and the coach transfer to Nice. In fact, this is the second consecutive European tour where local difficulties have affected our travel home. If you remember last year, our return ferry journey from Calais was disrupted by a road blockade, and you arranged for us to travel back from Dunkirk instead. This was my sixth and last tour as Group Organiser for our Society. I have been extremely happy with the way our tours have been arranged and operated whilst I have been involved. It has been a pleasure to have you as our Tour Operator. I would like to thank everyone at Tailored Travel for all the work they have done on our behalf during this time, and I would be grateful if you would pass on my thanks to all concerned

BM, Great Bookham November 2017

 

David is taking over from me as Visits Organiser of our Society. I would like to say how much I have enjoyed working with Tailored Travel. Our trips to Berlin and the Peak District were both great successes due to your careful planning and meticulous organisation. All your staff are a pleasure to deal with and I am now looking forward to next year’s trip to Oxford. Many thanks to you all.

VH, Weymouth October 2017

 

We had an Art Fund committee meeting this morning and everyone was very impressed by the brochure for Suffolk & Norfolk. We are delighted that we have found Tailored Travel and as the local organiser I am so pleased to work with such an efficient firm.

DB, York January 2017

 

I have now completed my term of trip organiser for our Society. It has been a pleasure using Tailored Travel as our planners. Every trip has been a joy with very few hiccups and many pleasant surprises. If I ever take on the role again I shall certainly use your company.

JG, Sudbury October 2016

 

I have decided to call a moratorium on group holidays for the next year or so. Thank you very much for all the hard work that Tailored Travel have put in over the last 8 years to make our holidays so enjoyable and memorable, and I hope that we may avail ourselves of your services in the future.

AB, Melton Mowbray October 2016

 

Our tour to Liverpool last week was a great success. Although our DFAS has been using Tailored Travel for some years for our UK tours, (and I have been on most of them), this of course was my first as the Tours Secretary and Group Leader. I want to say how impressed I was with the whole operation, from the start with your suggested itinerary, to the publicity brochure and the final detailed briefing for both myself and the group members. In particular Louise has been a joy to work with throughout - helpful, knowledgeable and she is a great asset to the company.

MD, Budleigh Salterton July 2016

 

The tour to Amsterdam was my last extended visit for our Society and without exception every tour arranged by Tailored Travel has been of the highest quality. Yourself, Damian and all your staff I have spoken to over the years have been very helpful and knowledgeable and have given me the confidence needed to undertake these tours. Please pass on my thanks to everyone concerned. I started with a successful visit to Madrid and finished with another successful visit to The Hague; what could be more satisfying. Thank you Michael and all your team.

RW, Witham May 2016

 

As the group organiser, since using Tailored Travel I have really appreciated the help given to me, always very professional but it also feels personal which is great. For our Society it is a super way for us to raise money, much of which goes to projects at Attingham Park which I notice is often on your itinerary and in fact I have met some of your groups as I am a tour guide there.

SP, Telford September 2015

 

As you know as from July I am no longer on the Committee. Thanks Michael for all the excellent tours that you have arranged for us while I have been the Tour Organiser. It has always been a pleasure working with you, together with your fantastic team. I shall certainly miss our discussions and planning meetings. May Tailored Travel continue for many years to come. With best wishes to you and to all at Tailored Travel.

Dr EP, Dorking September 2015

 

This was the last study visit that I will be organising for our group so I would like to thank the whole team for all that you have done for us over the years. I have very much enjoyed working with you all.

PW, Oxford June 2015

 

I have now come to the end of my stint as Visits Organiser for our NADFAS. In fact my last event is the visit to Vienna which you have organised for us on April 10th 2015. I have enjoyed working with you and all of the team at TT and am full of praises for all your efforts. I will certainly always recommend TT to any organisation requiring group visits. Thank you again.

DM, Louth March 2015

 

Please pass on my congratulations to Sandy for her ten years with Tailored Travel. I shall never forget the help she gave me when I was President last year of the Club with my weekend in Winchester and 9 days holiday in Portugal. My thanks should also go to Michael and Damian - you are all a great team that works together.

JS, High Ongar July 2014

 

Thank you. This is the first email newsletter I have received and it grabs my attention. I was interested to see the testimonials. I have never written one, but can endorse what is said... I take a basic tour and then chop and change what we see and it all works wonderfully well and everyone is happy!

KP, Hayling Island July 2014

 

Thank you for getting in touch with me. I have retired from organising holidays on behalf of the Federation. I would just like to take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed for all the help you gave me and for the very successful holidays you organised which were greatly enjoyed. Please make my thanks known to all your staff.

LC, Totnes July 2014

 

My sincere thanks for all the help and advice given by your team during the four years that I have been Visits Secretary for our Society. Our holidays to Co. Durham. North Wales, Norfolk and the Cotswolds have all been extremely successful and any small problem has been swiftly dealt with. Our members are very appreciative of the guides who have been with us. On our visit to Oxford last week, Ian and Bella, were so enthusiastic and obviously love their city. They really wanted to show us as much as possible in the time available. I am sure the two ladies who are taking over from me will appreciate your knowledge and expertise to make their holiday to Kent next year just as successful.

PS, Ottery St Mary June 2014

 

I had been organising local day and residential excursions for a number of years when Tailored Travel offered a lifetime opportunity to visit Oberammergau on a two year advanced booking. In between we toured Umbria with nearly 60 participants, followed by Berlin, Brussels and, recently, Vienna. Their organisation has been splendid throughout, their couriers both caring and knowledgeable, the flexibility to vary choices within being a unique feature and at the end of it, a sizeable donation to our organisation (in the form of one free place for every ten).

MB, Bristol August 2013

 

Until health issues hastened my retirement from ‘active service’, from 2009 I was the local contact for the annual Art Tours organised by Tailored Travel for the Friends of Aberdeen Art Gallery and Museums to Berlin, Hidden Umbria, Krakow and Lisbon (and had previously been on a number of other Friends tours with Tailored Travel to Italy, the Netherlands and Barcelona & Madrid). I have always found Tailored Travel consistently good to deal with, happy to accommodate our sometimes idiosyncratic travel requirements, and was consistently impressed by the quality of the local guides in each country.

GB, Aberdeen August 2013

 

The service given by Tailored Travel is unequalled. Every need is taken care of and the 24 hour telephone number is greatly appreciated. The holiday itineraries are so varied and comprehensive. All the staff are extremely helpful in every respect.

MK, Market Harborough July 2013

 

Since I started working with Tailored Travel, which I believe was in 2006, I have had wonderful support – nothing has ever been too much trouble, especially when I was unable to go at the last minute on the arranged trip to Tuscany in 2009 having to have heart surgery instead! All the staff feel like friends and are great to work with.

CK, Bristol April 2013

 

I can’t tell you how reassuring it is to know that all the Tailored Travel team are ‘on the case’ and I know Colin and I will rely on your good advice and judgement regarding the tour to Prague in May next year. If that trip is as successful as the ones you have arranged for us to Belgium and Italy, we will be very pleased indeed.

HP, Bath April 2013

 

You have gone from strength to strength over the years and due to you all have made many Groups very happy. Your knowledge and details are second to none and have made the holidays memorable. Keep up the good work.

MW, Reigate March 2013

 

We all enjoyed our break through Tailored Travel, and I would just like to say thank you personally to you for the help you gave in organising it. Everything went as planned. We would certainly recommend your company for its service and attention to detail.

PL, Scarborough October 2012

 

In my experience, Tailored Travel has always fulfilled your commitments and more going the extra mile, making certain all the I’s are dotted and T’s crossed, any questions dealt with immediately. We always feel we have a company that is committed to our welfare and I don’t think you can say any fairer than that. You are No. 1 as far as our group is concerned.

VC, Cardiff April 2011

 

You will also find more testimonials for particular destinations on that destination’s relevant tour page

Call us on
020 7064 4970
to tailor make the perfect tour
for your group